MB2X Top Ten: Best Excuses For Missing Your Buddy’s Show

Being a talented musician yourself, aren’t you just sick of all your friends bugging you to go to their shows all the time? 8 out of 10 musicians and producers polled agree that going to their friend’s show is “one of the lamest things ever.” Anybody who’s anyone has always got SOMEthing else better to do that night, so we feel like flaking on a show invite is an important move when you have an image to uphold. Even if you don’t have anything going on that night, you probably don’t feel like going out… but don’t want to hurt your friend’s feelings.

Here at MB2X we’ve propagated a list of the best possible next-day excuses for missing a show, each one thoroughly field-tested and guaranteed to avoid a really annoying guilt trip.

10.  I tried to call you, but you didn’t call me back.

9.  I couldn’t get out of work.

8.  I had food poisoning… really bad – I think it was something I ate.

7.  I wasn’t on facebook today, I didn’t see the invite.

6.  You didn’t tell me it was $5!

5.  We had practice last night, are you playing again soon?

4.  I was ready to go and then I fell asleep! I work early.

3.  I couldn’t find a ride.

2.  I was at the _______ show across the street, have you heard them?

1.  Wait, the show was last night?

Leave a comment